Bourjois Lipstick Review

20140913_140336

Hellooo lovelies!!

I’ve been wanting to do a review on this product for a little while for a few reasons both good and bad. The main reason personally is that when you pay a certain amount for a product you expect what you pay for. Bourjois is a drug store product, however is definitely one of the more expensive brands. Usually when I go to Boots or Superdrug I expect to be paying around £5/£7 for lipstick, although I usually buy mine from MAC, which is about £15.50 each, but the quality is top notch, so I don’t mind paying so much.

20140913_140446 *Sweet Kiss (51)*

This Lipstick was £9/£10 when I bought it, which as I said, in my opinion is relatively more on the expensive side. So all things considered I expected something better than the bog standard stuff I usually get. You are promised a “radiant, glossy finish” and your lips to be “Smooth, hydrated and protected for up to 10 hours”.

I must say, upon application, it does look beautifully smooth and glossy and one thing I do love about lipsticks which this one does great is the more layers you apply the darker it gets, so you actually get a few different shades out of one lipstick, which is awesome. It feels lovely and light on your lips and massively defines the shape and dimensions of your lips, even making them look fuller and plumper.

My main issues with this lipstick specifically is that after an hour or so of it being on, it begins to wear off and leaves this ‘lip liner only’ look on your lips which is never a good thing when it’s such a dark berry shade. No one wants to look like they’ve come back from a night out an hour after they’ve got out of bed right…
Following the point of it wearing off an hour into wearing it, it hardly lives up to this “smooth, hydrated and protected for up to 10 hours” BS does it?! I would 100% safely say if I wear this on an evening or when I’m out and about, it NEEDS taking with me and re-applying several times and my lips don’t feel hydrated, not at all, so I’m not sure where that came from…

Personally I’m not against this lipstick, I love this colour and it does look beautiful when you put it on, but sadly doesn’t stay that way all too long. It’s okay if you’re happy re-applying here and there, but probably not on a night out in town with the girls when you’re too drunk to remember what drink you just bought. The last thing you want to be wearing is a lippy that you need to remember to be re-applying regularly, it’s just not going to happen, then you’ll end up with the weird lip liner only look and pulling that night goes out of the window…

 

Let me know what you think? Have you ever had a lipstick that doesn’t live up to it’s promises, or on the other hand one that’s blown you away?

 

Enjoy your day ladies!

Love&Hugs

Roobes xxx

 

Facebook|Twitter|Instagram|Pinterest

One thought on “Bourjois Lipstick Review

  1. Pingback: Bourjois Color Boost Lip Crayon Review | PolkadotSparkles

Leave a Reply

