How to: Konad Stamping.

wpid-20141019_120550.jpg

Hello there m’lovelies!

Today is a ‘How to’ day for something, which personally for me, baffled my little brain for AGES. Konad stamping was one of those things where initially I was like, I bet that’s a pain in the backside to do/I can imagine it’s really quite hard. So I steered clear of it for a long time, until I saw it trending on YouTube and realised that yes, I may actually be wrong here. I’ll admit there’s a bit of a ‘knack’ to it,  but you get there after your first 2/3 times. The worst part is, it’s faffy, I’ll explain why later but please do keep reading, it’s really really easy and definitely worth investing the time and money in, it makes nail art look like an absolute walk in the park!

You can buy Konad Stamping sets on their website, Amazon, Ebay, anywhere you care to look really, they sell them in the simple set of the stamper and scraper which I would recommend (you can get a double ended stamper for more precision with the smaller designs as opposed to a single ended one, I would say to get the double ended one). Or they come in sets which include stamping polish and/or some plates. It’s up to you, but it’s about £5-£7 to get the scraper and stamper set, so it’s nice and cheap.
Get yourself a couple of different plates to begin with, again you can buy these from more a less anywhere too, pick some designs you like they’re only £2/£3 each. There are lots of different makes of stamping plates out there, from personal experience stay away from the cheap ones, they aren’t engraved deep enough and therefore when you transfer the design onto your stamper it doesn’t go and your just left with a messy plate and disappointment. Big no-no.
There are only 3 brands I 100% recommend:
(I’ve linked them to the websites direct for you to look/buy)

I’ve had guaranteed results with all of these brands, which is why these are the only ones I’m prepared to recommend.
Now, stamping polish, a little bit of a myth in my opinion, however, each to their own. You don’t need a specific stamping polish, you can just as easily use any old polish from your rack, the only thing I will say is don’t use that thin, rubbish one you’ve had for 10 years, use a good quality strong, thick polish otherwise it looks washed out. You can buy stamping polish, it is thicker and in it’s defence sometimes is worth it if you’re doing an intricate design, but for a starter, it’s definitely not required. As you go on, if you enjoy stamping and improve as your design quality, then you should look into getting stamping polish.

So good to knows out of the way, how to’s coming up…

Firstly, make the huge decision of which design you want to do, grab the plate, your base colour, stamping colour, scraper, stamper, nail polish remover and some cotton pads/balls. Yes, I am aware the list is extensive, but don’t let it put you off. For your set up make sure you’ve got the base colour on your nails and it’s COMPLETELY DRY, otherwise, it’ll squash and smudge it when you apply your stamp design and then the whole thing is a categorical disaster. Apply a good amount of nail varnish remover to a pad/ball and put to one side. Now you’ll have to do this bit quickly (don’t worry speed comes in time), apply a coat of your chosen stamping colour over the design on the plate, put some weight behind your hand and scrape off the excess polish with your scraper and immediately roll your stamper over the design, again applying a bit of pressure behind the stamper to make sure it picks up the whole design, then quickly roll the design on to the desired area of your nail. Once you’ve done the stamping bit, take the polish remover coated pad/ball and wipe your plate clean of any excess polish. Then you’re ready to start the whole process again.

I know that sounds ridiculously faffy, painful and annoying and like it’s going to take forever, but it doesn’t I promise. The first couple of times I did it it took about 15 mins for me to do the stamping, after that my 4th/5th time it only took 5 mins, as soon as you get into the rythem of it it takes no time at all. I love the fact that it makes you look like a nail art pro, yet all the hard work is already cut out for you, it’s super easy and very rewarding to look at once you’re done 🙂
Don’t forget to apply your top coat!!!

Things to remember:

  • You don’t HAVE to use stamping polish
  • You will need a cotton wool pad/ball with a good coating of nail polish remover ready before you start
  • Keep your scraper clean!
  • Do your nails on an old towel/kitchen roll to avoid making mess
  • Konad, MoYou, Born Pretty – my recommendations
  • Wipe your stamping plate after every use
  • Don’t do any stamping until your base colour is definitely dry.

Hope this was of some help to you guys if you like the idea of or want to try Konad Stamping. Let me know how you get on or if you’re going to try it. I’m putting up a blog later in the week of an NOTD with Konad Stamping so check that out to see some designs too!

Love&Hugs

Roobes xxxxx

 

Facebook|Twitter|Instagram|Pinterest

9 thoughts on “How to: Konad Stamping.

Leave a Reply

