My Drugstore Makeup

wpid-20141113_185945_lls-1.jpg

Hello lovelies!

Today I’m going to do my drugstore make up face essentials (i.e. what I carry round in my make up back for touch ups!) I love every single one of these products and the reason being is that they are about half the price yet equal quality to high end products, for brands like MAC, NARS and Bare Minerals.

Firstly I have to mention the concealer I use which I STUPIDLY ran out of and binned before I took this photo (and sorry but there’s no way you’re going to get me trailing through any bins for that girl!), the one I use is Maybelline’s Pure Mineral Concealer. It doesn’t wipe off or get thinner as the day goes on, it just stays the same. As you put it on it’s a good strong coverage and I know you will understand what I mean by that it doesn’t apply a shade darker than stated on the tube when you buy it, like some cheaper concealers can do. It’s exactly the shade you expect and it works to a much higher standard than you would expect for something affordably priced from your local drug store.

Following that is the No7 Stay Perfect foundation, this has beautiful coverage and gives that dewy finish that looks so natural, I actually prefer this without any powder because it just gives the appearance of flawless natural skin.

I apply a thin layer of GOSH’s ‘Precious bronzer pearls’ to under my cheek bones, I say a thin layer because this particular bronzer has a slight shimmer to it so you don’t want to apply too much or you’ll look like your inner greek goddess statue is coming out.

Following my bronzer I apply Maybelline’s ‘Expert Wear’ compact blush. I really like this, because like most Maybelline products it doesn’t just stay there for a couple of hours before it smudges and looks like you’ve left your make up on from the night before. It sticks around for a good 7-8 hours. I love Maybelline, what can I say.

So for my eyes, yes I’m about to preach some more about Maybelline so just bare with if you’re having issues, I use Maybelline’s Rocket Volum’ Mascara, with their ‘Eyestudio Drama Gel Liner’, nice and thinly above my upper lash line and then again Maybelline’s Master Drama Khol Liner. All of the above stay on all day for a minimum of 12 hours, minus the khol liner, that’s about 5 hours on one layer, call me a liar if you like but you wont when you’ve tried it! Seriously, I have never and will never buy high end eye make up products when you have Maybelline at such an affordable price (maybe on eye-shadows – but nothing else!) Finally to finish with my eyes I use my GOSH palette, to be honest, I have probably bought about 7/8 of their eye-shadow palettes and each one has been as good as the last. The stay on strong for about 8 hours minimum and blend BEAUTIFULLY! Out of the one above I like to put on the peach base and blend the mild brown shade from the outer corners inwards, very pretty and very subtle.

Finally. Lips. I had a long old discussion with myself about the best product however clearly wasted my time as I couldn’t come to a conclusion so had to put two on. On the upside, one is a gloss and one is a lipstick so that’s okay, right?! There is my beloved Bourjois Color Boost Lip Crayon – see the review in more detailΒ here in Orange Punch. This is really hydrating, long lasting, strong lip crayon that gives a beautiful glow and gloss to your lips and fits with nearly all make up styles. Secondly I have Barry M’s LP165, this applies and glides very easily and looks slightly glossy on your lips. It looks lovely with one layer and stays on for quite a while, although is prone to disappearing off your lips and decorating your sandwiches and cup rims to another level, it does often need a new application. However purely because of it’s appearance and stunning colour this has to be one of my drug store faves!

And that’s just about it! If you’re looking for an opinion of drug store make up brushes BUY GOSH! Honestly no word of a lie they rival my MAC brushes. Just saying.

Hope you enjoyed this, it was especially forΒ girls like myself who have to pay all the household costs out themselves with not much left to treat yourself with at the end of it all. Unless you class the more expensive version of your supermarkets own brand as a treat, in which case, go wild! (don’t worry you’re not on your own, I have a party when I see the reduced section hoarding a bunch of expensive stuff for a quarter of the price, it instantly becomes a case of – so how much space do I have left in my freezer? Never mind I’ll cram it in some how!)

Love&Hugs

Roobes:) xxxxx

 

Facebook|Twitter|Instagram|Pinterest

Leave a Reply

