MAC Viva Glam 1 Lipstick – Review

wpid-20141230_141936.jpg

Heyeyeyeyey!

Hope you guys new years have set off positively, mine has been interesting. Yes already. The wonders of the world I live in. I shall explain all on #SundayFundayCatchUp tomorrow…

SO I wanted to do a review on this MAC lipstick I bought the other day (with the vouchers I had in the back of my purse from last Christmas which I had forgotten about. MWHAHAHAHAHA!), when I popped out to the shops with my mamma. I originally went to get Ruby Woo & Kinda Sexy, neither of which they had in stock. An impossible sin I know. So I ended up with this one and another, which the review is coming soooooooon.

One down side is that their marketing team either had a day off or had a total brain fart on the day they were labelling the Viva Glam collection. The names Viva Glam 1, Viva Glam 2 etc is not exactly up to MAC’s normal standards of product naming abilities. But hey ho, everyone needs a day off right?! But otherwise, all is well on the horizon…

The swatch is below:
wpid-20141230_142008-1.jpg

When I was in the shop I was asking one of the girls there for a hand choosing a really gorgeous deep red colour. She immediately picked out this one and described it the only way I think it can be: A Super Vampy Red. Honestly when I put it on and look at the lipstick I’m like lost for any form of descriptive words other than ‘vampy’.But it really is. It’s a very deep, thick dark red, with some slightly browny purple undertones, which really accentuates your lips making them look as full bodied as ever. It’s matte, sort of. It’s matte but with a slight sheen to it, so it’s almost matte, which soundsΒ a bit odd. Is that odd? It’s a bit odd. But awesome!

Due to it’s matteness (sort of matteness), it can tend to dry out your lips a little bit. So after you’ve worn it, put a good layer of lip treatment on it, whether it’s a balm or Vaseline or whatever takes your fancy. If you wear matte a lot, keep your lips moisturised, matte lipstick likes to think it’s a dehydrated fish, so balm up!

This specific shade looks beautiful with lots of dark eye shadow tones and a nude/beige blush. Or on a more day to day look, with thick winged eye liner and black liner on your water line, keeping it simple but gorgeous.

Regardless of your hair colour, how pale or dark your skin is, your eye colour, clothing style that day, this lipstick will work. Trust me. It’s so adaptable and works all round. It may be dark, and more for what some may wear on an evening when you’re getting all dolled up, but personally I love shades like this and wear them whenever I can, so go for it, be a bit more daring and whack it on for the day. You’ll turn heads I promise!

Seriously go out and buy yourself some. This is my favourite lipstick I’ve ever owned hands down.

Hope you liked this review guys, let me know what you think!

 

Love&Hugs

 

Roobes xxxxx

 

Facebook|Twitter|Instagram|Pinterest|Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “MAC Viva Glam 1 Lipstick – Review

  1. Pingback: MAC Viva Glam 2 review | PolkadotSparkles

Leave a Reply

